About Us.

Board of Directors

Mick McCormack | Non-Executive Chairman | BSurv GradDipEng MBA FAICD

Mick has over 35 years’ experience in the energy infrastructure sector in Australia and is recognised as a visionary, thought-leader and proven corporate leader, as demonstrated through his 14-year tenure as CEO of APA Group.

As CEO for APA Mick transformed the gas delivery system in Australia with the development of a pipeline grid system, introducing world leading innovative technologies such as bi-directional flows and gas storage flexibility.

Mick led $12 billion in investment within energy infrastructure developments across the country which includes gas fired power generation, gas processing, LNG processing, electricity transmission, and large scale renewables (wind and solar), all building our nation’s energy security.

Corporately, Mick is recognised for his value-accretive M&A strategies; effective capital allocation and prudent capital management; impeccable corporate governance and a strong, vibrant and inclusive culture.

On becoming CEO of APA in 2005, there were 30 employees, with assets of $1.3bn. On his retirement in July 2019, APA had over 3,000 employees and assets of $24bn. Over the 14 years he led APA, the company delivered a compound rate of return to securityholders of over 17% per annum, making it one of the ASX’s top performing companies.

The growth and development of the APA Group demonstrates the success of Mick’s vision and determination. Renowned as an outstanding CEO, Mick has a proven and recognised ability to deliver for all stakeholders in an issue-laden sector during challenging corporate cycles.

In 2016 Mick was recognised through the ‘Australian Pipeline and Gas Association Outstanding Contribution Award’ and in 2019 was awarded Australian Pipeline and Gas Association Honorary Life membership. In addition to his leadership at APA Group, Mick formerly held senior roles at AGL, and is a former Director of Envestra (now Australian Gas Infrastructure Group) and the Australian Pipeline Industry Association (now Australian Pipelines and Gas Association).

Mick is a non-executive chairman at Origin Energy and a non-executive director at Austal Limited and a director of the Clontarf Foundation and the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra Foundation.

Mr McCormack has been a director of Central Petroleum Limited since 1 September 2020.
Leon Devaney | Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer | BSc MBA

Mr Leon Devaney has over 15 years of commercial and finance experience within the Australian oil and gas sector and holds an MBA and BSc (Finance) from the University of Southern California, USA.

Leon joined Central Petroleum in 2012 as Chief Commercial Officer, making the transition to CFO in November 2014. Leon was instrumental in negotiating the Mereenie acquisition from Santos in 2015, as well as the Palm Valley and Dingo Gas Field acquisition from Magellan Petroleum in 2014.

Leon was appointed Chief Executive Officer, effective 21 February 2019, after serving as Acting CEO since July 2018.

Prior to joining Central Petroleum, Leon worked at QGC and played a pivotal role in its growth from a small cap gas exploration company into a multi-billion dollar takeover target by the BG Group in 2008. Leon continued with BG following the QGC takeover, where he served as General Manager, Gas and Power, responsible for the domestic gas and electricity portfolio.

Prior to QGC, Leon held senior roles at Deloitte in the Corporate Finance Advisory group where he was active in structuring and implementing commercial and financing transactions for major energy and infrastructure projects throughout Australia.

Mr Devaney has been a director of Central Petroleum Limited since 14 November 2018.
Stuart Baker | Non-Executive Director | BE(Elec), MBA. Member, AICD

Mr Baker has more than four decades of experience in the oil and gas sector and currently provides independent advice to corporates and investors in the Australian oil and gas industry.

Previously he was Executive Director, Morgan Stanley with dual roles as Co-Head Asia Oil, Gas and Chemicals Research and team leader, Australian energy, mining and utility research, with positions held over a 13-year period.

He also held senior equity research positions in oil and gas, at Macquarie Bank and Bankers Trust, and as a Petrophysical Engineer at Schlumberger Inc. based in South east Asia, rising to General Field Engineer.

Mr Baker is currently a member of the investment committee of resource focused ASX listed Lowell Resources Fund, and is a strategic advisor to Karoon Gas.

Mr Baker has been a director of Central Petroleum Limited since 7 December 2018.
Katherine Hirschfeld AM | Non-Executive Director | BE(Chem) UQ, HonFIEAust FTSE FIChemE CEng FAICD

Katherine Hirschfeld is a highly regarded non-executive director, having served on company boards listed on the ASX, NZX and NYSE, as well as government and private company boards.

She is currently the Chair of Powerlink, Senator at the University of Queensland and a board member of Queensland Urban Utilities.

Ms Hirschfeld has also been a Board Member and President of UN Women National Committee Australia and non-executive director of Energy Queensland, Tox Free Solutions, InterOil Corporation, Broadspectrum and Snowy Hydro.

Previously she had leadership roles with BP in oil refining, logistics, exploration and production located in Australia, UK and Turkey.

Ms Hirschfeld was recognised in the AFR/Westpac 100 Women of Influence 2015, by Engineers Australia as one of Australia’s Top 100 Most Influential Engineers 2015 and as an Honorary Fellow in 2014. She is a member of Chief Executive Women and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Academy of Engineering and Technology. Kathy is also an executive mentor/coach with Merryck & Co.

In 2019 Ms Hirschfeld was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to engineering, to women, and to business.

Ms Hirschfeld has been a director of Central Petroleum Limited since 7 December 2018.
Dr Agu Kantsler | Non-Executive Director | PhD BSc (Hons) FTSE GAICD

Dr Agu Kantsler has some 45 years of experience in the international and Australian upstream oil and gas industry and has spent over 20 years in senior leadership positions and 10 years serving on the boards of several listed and private companies.

He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Oil Search Limited and the Managing Director of Transform Exploration Pty Ltd. He is a former President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry Western Australia, a former Director of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry and a former Chairman and Director of the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association (APPEA).

Agu spent 15 years working for Shell International Petroleum in various international exploration assignments and his final position was Exploration Manager for the Shell Group of Companies in Indonesia. He then spent 13 years as Executive Vice President for Exploration and New Ventures with Woodside Petroleum Limited where he led teams credited with numerous oil and gas discoveries including the giant Pluto and Calliance gas fields. Agu then spent two years as the Executive Vice President for Health, Safety and Security at Woodside where he restructured the team of HSS professionals providing management advice on safety, welfare and security for over 16,000 construction workers in Southeast Asia and Australia as well as operations at Woodside’s nine major production facilities.

Dr Kantsler was awarded APPEA’s Reg Sprigg gold medal for service to the industry in 2005 and in 2006 was elected to Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Dr Kantsler has been a director of Central Petroleum Limited since 15 June 2020.

Media Releases

Subscribe to receive company media releases through our Email Alerts service.